I heard them once…

I heard them singing once,
their voices tangled in each others.
Such mournful melody,
it made me shiver.
I felt the earth reverberate underneath me,
I felt my heart contract,
and my soul burst free.
My eyes grew wider,
with every strum.
Letting go of all the reservations,
I began to hum.
My voice joining theirs,
into the starless night,
they encouraged me,
bringing me out into the light.
And suddenly nothing mattered,
all the walls I had unknowingly built up,
slowly shattered.
I started singing,
with all that I had,
that’s when I realized,
the song we were singing was no longer sad.
One thought on “I heard them once…

Leave a Reply

